How To Hide Specific Memories In Google Photos

Google Photos has been around for a long time, and it’s a great service, needless to say. It allows you to organize your photos in a great way, and it was even free until recently. Now you have to pay up in order to upload your pictures if you don’t have specific Google Pixel smartphones. Do note that this offer is no longer valid with the Pixel 6 series. Even without that, Google Photos is a great app, and many people may opt to pay for extra storage. One of the features that it offers is called “Memories”, which has been around since last year. Google Photos can send random memories in form of images your way from time to time, but not many people appreciate that. Perhaps you want some memories to be excluded from the cycle? Well, if that’s the case, you’re in the right place, as we’ll show you how to hide specific memories in Google Photos.

Do note that you can hide specific people, if you want, in general. Alternatively, you can hide memories from certain dates, if you want. Google is giving you quite a few options in order to avoid some memories that you don’t want to see. If you have such images, perhaps, well, read on. We’ll explain to you how to hide them one step at a time, and include screenshots as well, so that you can follow along. Do note you’ll need to have the Google Photos app installed, though, of course.

How to hide specific memories in Google Photos

The first thing you need to do is open the Google Photos app, of course. Then, tap your profile picture in the top-right corner.

Hide memories Google Photos image 1

Here you’ll see a bunch of options, but what we’re looking for is “Photos settings”.

Hide memories Google Photos image 2

An entirely new menu will open, with a bunch of submenus. The one you’ll need to tap is called “Memories”.

Hide memories Google Photos image 3

Now we’re in the right place. Here you can choose either the “Hide people & pets” or “Hide dates” option. We’ll talk about each of them below.

Hide memories Google Photos image 4

If you choose the “Hide people & pets” option, a menu with people’s faces will open. There, you’ll be able to select what faces you don’t want to see in your memories. As you already know, Google Photos does recognize faces, so if you hide a specific person, it won’t show you pictures with that person. This is great if you need to isolate an ex-boyfriend/girlfriend, or anything of the sort.

Hide memories Google Photos image 5

If you’ve opted for the second option in the “Memories” menu, the “Hide dates” option, you’ll be able to hide specific dates. Simply tap the “Add dates” button, and set whatever you want here.

Hide memories Google Photos image 6

There you go, you’ve successfully hidden memories from specific people or specific dates. In case you’re wondering what is the “Advanced” option in the “Memories” menu for, well, there you can change the frequency and type of your memories. You’ll also find the notification settings there, and so on.